top of page

Williamsburg Wildlife Walks with Zach

Photography & captions by Zachary Lutzky



A male Cardinal on a branch near the Crim Dell Bridge.

A Bluedasher which is a species of Skimmers, but are also known as a "blue pirate" or "dinning needle," perched on a branch near Lake Matoaka.


A water droplet I took a picture of when I got caught outside in a rainstorm and had to take shelter in the parking garage.

A slug on a mushroom I found on the wildlife trail when I was walking to Caf.

A Red Eared Slider turtle on one of the Grim Dell's famous floating mattresses.

A sheep "chilling" in the shade in Colonial Williamsburg on a very hot day.

A Mexican Kite Swallowtail in a garden in Colonial Williamsburg.

A Brown-eyed Susan in a Colonial Williamsburg garden.

A recently sheared sheep in Colonial Williamsburg.

A large tree behind the Colonial Williamsburg Courthouse.

A Pickerel Frog on the side of a trail near Lake Matoaka.

Some baby deer I encountered on my walks in the forest trails near Lake Matoaka. I made sure not to get too close, and their mother very closely watched me when I took this picture.

The moon as viewed when it first rose over Lake Matoaka. Its orange glow disappeared as it got higher in the sky.

A Green Heron that was "stretching" near the Crim Dell.

An American Water Frog that was hiding in the waters of the Crim Dell.

91 views0 comments
bottom of page